Next Show: Fall 2021 
Last Show: August 2021

waxpoetics2'.jpg
TY.png

Friday, August 6, 2021

ONLINE via Zoom Webinar

Show Time: 7:00 pm EST

(4pm PST) (5pm MST) (6pm CST)

Join Soul Sister Revue for its summer show as we ask the question “What does Soul mean to you?” Readers include Ada Limón (The Carrying), Douglas Kearney (Sho), Destiny O.  Birdsong  (Negotiations), Dr. Grisel Y. Acosta (Things to Pack on the Way to Everywhere), and Shayla Lawz (“speculation, n.”). The event is free, but registration is required.

Social distancing doesn't mean isolation and we can't wait to see you!

Founder/Curator

 

Cynthia Manick is the author of Blue Hallelujahs (Black Lawrence Press, 2016) and editor of Soul Sister Revue: A Poetry Compilation (Jamii Publishing, 2019) and The Future of Black: Afrofuturism and Black Comics Poetry (Blair Publishing, forthcoming 2021). She has received fellowships from Cave Canem, Hedgebrook, MacDowell Colony, and Château de la Napoule among others.  Winner of the Lascaux Prize in Collected Poetry, Manick was also awarded Honorable Mention for the 2019 Furious Flower Poetry Prize. A performer at literary festivals, libraries, universities, and most recently the Brooklyn Museum, Manick’s work has appeared in the Academy of American Poets Poem-A-Day Series, Callaloo, Los Angeles Review of Books (LARB), The Wall Street Journal, and elsewhere. She currently serves on the board of the International Women’s Writing Guild and the editorial board of Alice James Books. ​

This event is funded in part by Poets & Writers with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

logo.pw_.310x42-1_0.png
nysca.gif